the little things

“uh-huh…okay. I’m leaving the office and will be home in about half an hour. Is the chicken defrosted? I thought I’d barbque it tonight for dinner. Okay, sounds good. I’ll see you soon. I love you.”

I was privy to that half of a cell phone conversation while waiting for an elevator this afternoon. Those few sentences perfectly illustrate what I want: a home together, consulting each other on dinner that will be eaten together, knowing “see you soon” means being able to touch each other – not “we’ll get settled in our respective abodes and turn on a webcam for an hour”.  It’s the little things, the day to day things, that I’m looking forward to the most.

So when I heard the conversation, I smiled so much that a woman I’ve never met had to ask me about it. And I got to answer “Because in a week I get to have conversations like that one. And I hope to never take that privilege for granted.”

(Now when I turn into a raging lunatic venting “seriously how difficult is it to pick up a pair of socks off the floor?!!?” please direct my attention to this post. Or smack me upside the head. Whichever.)

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

