Happy Thanksgiving!

For the first time in…oh I dunno a long time…I’m not hosting Thanksgiving. I’m not cooking the turkey. I don’t have to clean or decorate or inventory serving dishes. I’m in charge of only a few side items, lemonade and one pie.

It’s an odd feeling. It’s partly a relief but I honestly ENJOY all the planning and cooking and decorating. The cleaning, eh, not so much but that’s why God gives us kids right?

Just kidding.

Kinda.

Anyway. I always start getting a little homesick around the holidays which is certainly not unusual.  I have to admit I  miss my family a little more than I have in past years and I really think it’s because I haven’t had the distraction of planning and calling my mother/sisters to discuss recipes in depth. I’m lucky that I like Jon’s family (and they accept me) and am glad we will get to spend the holidays with them though. So while this year is definitely different, it will also be enjoyable.

In other news – Jon and I are maintaining seperate bedrooms until we’re married. We are trying to live the life God wants for us and to live a good example for the boys. Now I know most of you got hung up on the last word of the first sentence of this paragraph. Are you with me yet? Okay good. There hasn’t been an official proposal yet so there’s no official planning* going on though we have a date in mind and have discussed a few things. But I won’t start flooding this page with ideas/pictures/etc. At least not until everything is official.

 

 

 

 
*Oh please. You know I totally have spreadsheets started for guest list, music, & ideas and a favorites folder entitled “wedding”.

2 Comments

  1. Hi people, it is Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to make something fun that will probably involve a bike ride and seeing something new in Smyrna I haven’t seen yet.
    You write something new at Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

