Haha just kidding

So remember a few days ago when I said that Jon hasn’t had an allergy breakout lately?

Yes. Well.

Apparently the only reason he didn’t have symptoms was thanks to a handy little prescription of Xyzal. A handy little prescription that ran out a few days ago. Tonight his lip swelled up as bad as it ever has and he developed the lump in his throat. He took a couple of Benadryl and went to bed. So far no hives which is, I suppose, a small blessing. At least he’s not itching although for my OWN personal reassurance I’d prefer the hives to the swollen throat.  I’m sure he’d disagree in the light of his comfort.

So, on the one hand, yay for modern medicine. At least we know the symptoms can be managed. But on the other hand, MANAGING SYMPTOMS DOESN’T GIVE US ANSWERS. Neither does me freaking out but you guys. I’m more than a little concerned. Right now he’s FINE. I mean if you count a lip that looks like evidence of spousal abuse and a lump in his throat as “fine”. But he’s breathing okay and he doesn’t look like he has some odd skin disease and he’s not itching. And yet – obviously the only reason he hasn’t had continuous symptoms is the meds. Which means there’s a continued exposure to some elusive allergen. And can’t continued exposure lead to ana..anaph…anaphylactic shock? Well look at this from WebMD…(and if you don’t want to read it, I’ll sum it up for you afterwards)

Anaphylaxis is a serious, potentially life-threatening allergic response that is marked by swelling, hives, lowered blood pressure, and dilated blood vessels. In severe cases, a person will go into shock. If anaphylactic shock isn’t treated immediately, it can be fatal.

This condition occurs when the immune system creates specific disease-fighting antibodies (called immunoglobulin E or IgE) toward a substance that is normally harmless, such as food. When you are first exposed to the substance, your body does not react, but it does produce the antibodies. When you are exposed to the substance again, the antibodies spring into action, releasing large amounts of a protein called histamine. Histamine causes the symptoms described above.

What Are the Symptoms of Anaphylaxis?

Anaphylaxis may begin with severe itching of the eyes or face and, within minutes, progress to more serious symptoms. These symptoms include swallowing and breathing difficulties, abdominal pain, cramps, vomiting, diarrhea, hives, and angioedema (swelling similar to hives, but the swelling is beneath the skin instead of on the surface).

If you have symptoms of anaphylaxis, seek emergency medical attention immediately. The condition can quickly result in an increased heart rate, sudden weakness, a drop in blood pressure, shock, and ultimately unconsciousness and death.”

(Emphasis added by me)

If you didn’t want to read all that basically it says the symptoms he’s having can be a prelude to LIFE THREATENING ISSUES.

He’s so miserable and I don’t know what to do for him. I don’t know that there’s anything I CAN do for him except let him rest. I want to fix it. I’m wracking my brain trying to figure out what we introduced new, what’s different. My husband is having continuous severe allergic reactions and I can’t protect him and I should. It’s my responsibility and privilege to give him and our boys a safe, clean home to enjoy and there’s something – SOMETHING – I’m missing that turns it from a home into a poisonous pit.

I don’t know you guys. I just don’t know. Except I’m worried and that doesn’t help matters. And he needs to get to an allergist. Stat.

6 Comments

  1. Um, yeah, that lump in his throat is the “swallowing issues” that the article mentions.

    And is he suddenly very sleepy? That’s the drop in blood pressure.

    I’m speaking from experience. I have food allergies, and what he’s experiencing sounds a lot like my last episode.

    Get that man to an allergist and find out what’s causing this. Even if medicine is suppressing his symptoms, the more he is exposed to whatever he’s allergic to, the less the medicine will work.

    • No epi-pen. I’d feel better if we had one but so far he’s been to the doctor three times. First time they prescribed him a week’s worth of steroids. When he went back with the same symptoms, they gave him a shot & the allergy med prescription. Then they did blood work that all came back normal. Now it’s time to progress past the doc in a box and go to an allergist.

  2. I’d recommend Boise Asthma and Allergist. They are the ones that I went to (as well as my sister) Dr. Keeley (I’m pretty sure that’s his name) is the one we saw. And he took my cat allergy seriously even though I had negative blood work to cats. He even said that blood tests aren’t always accurate.

    He’d take the time to help you guys figure it out. I’d highly recommend them…if insurance covers them. But I’m sure they’d be willing to work out payments or something too if needed. (They did for my sister.)

Leave a Reply

