Recipes

Here are the “recipes” for items on our menu this week. I use the term “recipe” lightly as either (1) it’s ultra easy or (2) I kinda make things up as I go along or (3) all of the above. But here’s what I’m planning THIS week:

Enchiladas -Brown some ground beef (depends on how much you want), mix in a little canned red enchilada sauce, then wrap the sauced meat in a flour tortilla with a little bit of cheese. I put all of those enchiladas in a baking pan, cover with remaining sauce & more cheese and bake until the cheese is melty. Spanish rice is Rice-A-Roni. I ALSO do chicken enchiladas which is just as simple. Cook some boneless/skinless breasts (boil, grill…whatever method you want), shred them w/two forks and repeat the above process although I prefer corn tortillas & green enchilada sauce with chicken.

Pulled BBQ Pork – Grab a boneless pork roast from Winco – or wherever. I just go there because they have good prices and get whatever is least expensive. Then pick up a bottle or two of your BBQ sauce of choice. I’ve used the most expensive and it was great. I’ve also used Hunt’s Spicy Honey and it was just as big of a hit. Dump the roast in your crockpot. Cover it well with sauce. Cook on low all day. Pull it apart with a couple of forks and serve on buns or over rice. I’ve done two roasts and fed a crowd.

Meatballs – ground beef, bread crumbs, Italian dressing, minced garlic, Italian seasoning, Parmesan. I’m usually pretty generous with the parmesan & garlic but we like alot of both. I have no measurements. I just dump stuff in until it smells/looks right. Mix it all together, form into balls (as big or little as you want).  I bake mine on a broiler pan for 15-20 minutes.

Veggie Beef Stew – Cook some stew meat with whatever seasoning you prefer. Worcestershire is my go-to. Put in a crockpot with beef broth & vegetable juice (V8). I do about 3/4 juice & 1/4 broth to 1/2 and 1/2. Sometimes I put some powdered onion soup mix in with it. Add veggies of your choice  (the frozen mixes work really well). Cook on low for a few hours to all day. This goes especially well with a hearty homemade bread. Or crackers. Whichever.

Leave a Reply

