An update & obdience

So it’s been what? Almost two weeks since my last post? I’ve been a little busy. For a little while I decided that it’s possible I might have overbooked myself but alot of what I feel hanging over me will be gone in about two months. We’ll be moved, we’ll be on vacation, the kids will be out of school. It’s just a season.

So onto what’s been brewing in my mind…

Jon and I took the “Good Sense Budget” course yesterday. It was good – some new information, a lot of reminders on stuff I knew and a motivation to actually apply what we know. I’m (kinda) looking forward to sitting down with him to discuss an action plan soon. But during our discussion on giving, some of the class got onto the topic of giving with a happy heart vs giving because we’re supposed to.  Obviously God doesn’t want us to give out of a sense of duty or guilt. But that doesn’t mean we’re excused just because we “don’t feel like it”.  I was mulling over this conundrum when it clicked.

Acting out of a sense of duty is very self centered. It’s an attitude of “I HAVE to do this or something negative will happen” — whether that something negative is feeling guilty or tarnishing one’s reputation or incurring wrath. You act solely to protect yourself. Acting out of guilt is just as self centered. The focus is on alleviating your discomfort, of trying to atone for yourself.

However, acting out of obedience has a completely different focus. You’re still doing something you don’t necessarily WANT to do. You’re still doing something you don’t FEEL like doing. But you’re doing it out of the desire to obey. You’re doing it out love.

As with most every other issue, it comes down to the heart. Is your attitude begrudging? Or is it resolute? God KNOWS we’re not always going to “feel” like writing that check or blocking out quiet time or even reaching out to someone. But he will work with an obedient heart, a heart that WANTS to follow Him despite the flesh. He can transform your attitude.

1 Comment

Leave a comment