Bug vs Windshield

“Some days you’re the windshield. Some days you’re the bug.”

My limbs feel like they’re infused with lead. My head feels like it’s filled with helium. I was standing in the dining room earlier and just suddenly…fell over…just kinda stumbled into the wall. My brain…it was apparently soaked in a numbing agent over night. And my tear glands are only working sporadically – and then secreting kerosene.

I just looked at my ringing phone and growled “I don’t WANT TO TALK TO ANYONE.” At work.

I know it’ll pass quickly though. I’ll be right as rain tomorrow*.

Unfortunately that stupid bug vs. windshield phrase will still be around. Here’s the thing. I’m not a windshield. If I feel like a squashed bug on occasion, it’s because of a self inflicted schedule. I don’t want to be the windshield to someone else’s bug. And I don’t particularly want to “slam life” either. I will conquer obstacles and fears and endure (or power through) rough spots. But those “less than ideal” aspects are just that – aspects of an overall wonderful life. They’re simply pieces of a whole without which there would be no growth or improvement or change. A static life is a boring life. (The same might could be said of people).

*Since we’re discussing cliché phrases…okay *I’M* discussing them…I’ve never found a satisfactory etymology for “right as rain”. Seems it’s just one of many “right as…” phrases that have been around since medieval times, none of which really made sense. But it’s also pretty much the only to survive, perhaps because the alliteration is catchy. There’s just something soothing about it to me; maybe because in my head it’s always uttered in The Oracle’s voice and accompanied by the scent of fresh chocolate chip cookies**.

**If you don’t get this reference, I don’t know if we can be friends. Well we can. But I’ll need to educate you on The Matrix. And by educate I mean force you to watch it with me. Multiple times.

Leave a Reply

