Deep conversations

Last night our Life Group took a break from our study of 1 John to focus on the Easter story.  We read Matthew’s version & quickly realized that we generally hear John’s version. It was interesting to see the differences in both their writing and their points of view.However, one little passage in particular stood out to us from Matthew’s account.

From Matthew chapter 27:

50 Then Jesus shouted out again, and he released his spirit.51 At that moment the curtain in the sanctuary of the Temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. The earth shook, rocks split apart,

Okay…so all that is old news to me. It’s awesome but I’ve heard it. But then…then…

52 and tombs opened. The bodies of many godly men and women who had died were raised from the dead. 53 They left the cemetery after Jesus’ resurrection, went into the holy city of Jerusalem, and appeared to many people.

Wait. What?

This of course prompted a deep discussion on how people could continue to disbelieve with that kind of evidence and if you had the opportunity to to talk to a dead buddy wouldn’t you ASK him if Jesus was who he said? At which point I looked at my friend next to me and the following conversation ensued:

Me: “Um….quite frankly if a dead guy shows up in front of me, my first response is NOT going to be to start a intellectual conversation about the after life.  I’ll be trying to remember my zombie invasion prep plan.”

Her:  “Shoot them in the head.”

Me: “Double. Tap.

And the guy across the circle listening to us? I think he quit breathing for a bit.

We also discussed how the guards at the tomb probably soiled their garments when the earthquake happened & angel appeared & they passed out. I oh so helpfully  pointed out that the big mean Roman guards passed out but the two Marys? They had a conversation with the angel. (Jon tried to say that it’s because they weren’t there when the earthquake happened & the angel appeared but I bet they felt the ground shake where they were). But then it says they ran off to find the disciples filled with fear AND joy. So someone said they probably wet themselves a little…which prompted the women to explain that’s normal after having kids especially while running.

My Life Group. I love them.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

