Three Things Thursday

I’m not feeling terribly creative so let’s jump straight into three positive things that have happened in the past week:

  1. I have new responsibilities at work. Theoretically this will lead to more money but the really cool thing? I love the added tasks. One is just processing different paperwork but I’m enjoying taking over the process, streamlining it and making it work. And it adds more variety and “pep” to my day. I think part of me misses the intensity & pressure that was often present in the investment business. I don’t necessarily miss the stress…just the energy. And I’m finding this newer task helps provide that. The other thing? I’m the “official office photographer”. I’ve spent time getting shots of our people in action. The plan is that these will be used in the new website. That remains to be seen. In the meantime, I’m getting paid to take pictures and it’s very, very fun.
  2. This week has seen me return to almost a normal workout schedule. I have been active every day so far. I was bit concerned I overdid it Tuesday (strength workout, followed by 2 miles on the track, then two on the treadmill) but Wednesday morning I was up by 5:30 and in the pool by 6:10. It took me five minutes to figure out how to put my shoes on but I wasn’t able to go back to sleep either so the decision to just move seemed right. I’m trying not to get too terribly excited because then I’ll just be that much more frustrated if I hit another patch of low energy. But I’m enjoying it for now.
  3. LilBit has had incidents of demonstrating remarkable amounts of maturity. I praised him for eating dinner without complaint or hesitation TWO NIGHTS IN A ROW even though neither were “his favorite” or even things of which he was terribly fond. He launched into a dissertation about how silly it is to complain about food and how lucky we are to HAVE food and how we should just EAT it and be glad we get to eat. Basically everything Jon and I have repeated until we’re blue in the face, but much more animated and passionate. Either something clicked or someone he actually LISTENS to said the same thing. If I had to guess I’d suspect his little “girl friend”. (Funny story – he was recently asked if he had a girlfriend. He looked up and said “One word or two?” I laughed. Hard. How brilliant. Leaving out that space eliminates “girl” as a simple adjective and turns it into more of a title) I don’t know if this little revelation of his will stick but that moment gave me hope for our future dinners.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

