Philippines Trip – May 30 – Daytime

Well I didn’t anticipate or plan to take quite so long a hiatus from posting but then again, I never do. I started to write several times but I was dreading writing about the Philippines again. I know. I KNOW. I sound like a broken record. “This is hard” “This is emotional”.  So no more whining. I’ll suck it up and get the last of the posts up so I feel free to write about other things too. (Although I guarantee, these girls will still be a regular topic).

So. May 29th ended on a high note. May 30th dawned bright with anticipation. We went down to Clark Assembly of God church and picked up bags of food to take to a slum. The experience was oddly…muted. After the emotions of the previous day, I was firmly back in my little insulated bubble. It wasn’t a conscious act. In fact, I didn’t even know it was possible for me to be so detached.

2014-05-30 12.14.27e

Yes, there are people living under that bridge.

Yes, there are people living under that bridge.

I have very few pictures of the area which, if you know me, you know is a rare result.  But as we were loading up that day, Anjel blew me away with a simple but profound act of love. She took my backpack, loaded it with food, then informed me she was going to carry the load for me but wanted me to carry…and use…her camera. My biggest only regret on this trip was that I did not take my camera. My phone was a decent substitute but I desperately missed capturing the experience through my actual lens. I felt like I without part of myself most of the trip. Anjel somehow knew that and gave me that piece back for a time. It sounds silly and trite but it truly was an amazing gift.

Anjel, loving with all her heart, as always

Anjel, loving with all her heart, as always

That picture up there? One of my favorites from the entire trip.

The day was full of laughter and smiles, hugs and hands clasped. When we finished at the slum, Anjel and I went with a small group from the church and Beka (one of the missionaries) to give food out to families behind the church and visit the Sunday School children.  Watching them love on the kids was amazing.

We went back to the hotel after that to rest and get ready for our last night on Walking Street. But I think that night needs it’s own post.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Philippines Trip/Girls Getaway – Overview | I Shall Not Live In Vain

Leave a Reply

