Menu Planning Monday 11-06-2017

Recently I found myself in a dinner planning rut. It happens on a pretty regular basis actually so I started a list on my phone of “dinner ideas” but I like to add to that list on occasion lest I fall back into the rut. And I get new ideas from other people’s menus. I love finding blog posts with menus listed. I don’t always find a new recipe I think my family would like but I enjoy looking at them. So if that’s your thing, here’s what I have planned this week (with links to recipes – if they exist. They often don’t).

Monday: Brupper (Breakfast for supper) – This will just be pancakes and sausage. LilBit* doesn’t like eggs and they make me sick so I don’t make them. (Poor hubby. He would probably appreciate it if I would.)

Tuesday: Crockpot Roast – no particular recipe here. I dump the roast in my crockpot with Yukon gold potatoes (cut into 4ths or 8ths) and baby carrots. Salt/pepper, add a packet of onion soup mix, maybe some Worcestershire, and beef broth. Cook on low for like 8 hours. It’s a very fluid “recipe”. Sometimes I dice an onion instead of using soup mix. Sometimes I toss in a can or two of french onion soup.

Wednesday: Chili and rice krispy treats – Wednesdays are Youth Group nights. Hubby doesn’t have time to eat before taking LilBit so I don’t usually cook. (LilBit eats a sandwich or left overs.) But there’s a book study meeting at my house right now so I cook for those ladies. Anyway. My favorite chili recipe is this Chocolate Chili from Well Fed. Although I will confess, this week I am using McCormick’s seasoning packets. Because lazy.

Thursday/Friday/Saturday: I don’t usually have anything planned. Thursday is our small group at church and we eat there. Friday & Saturday we do something quick or hubby grills, or we eat out.

Sunday: Burgers and tater tots. Again, no recipe. I use Worcestershire and McCormick’s Montreal Steak seasoning to season the burgers and grill them on my little George Foreman grill. I use frozen tater tots – whatever brand is on sale. If I’m feeling really fancy, I’ll butter and toast the buns.

Nothing exciting this week. And I realized typing this out it’s a lot of beef! Usually I try to alternate chicken, beef & occasionally pork but obviously that doesn’t always happen.

*Lilbit informed me awhile ago that he is no longer a “lilbit”. In real life, he prefers to just be called by his name. He’s 14, can wear his dad’s shoes and will surpass me in height real soon…so he has a point. But alas, he may forever be “LilBit” on here. My baby sister is still “the baby” in our family although she’s in her 30s, married, has two kids of her own and her own business. There’s precedence is what I’m saying.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

