Menu Planning Monday 11-13-17

It’s supposed to be in the 50s this week, and only rainy one day. But I’m feeling fall lay heavy on us and my menu this week reflects it. In fact, yesterday I made burgers and tots as planned for lunch. But I really wanted broccoli & cheese soup so I made that (with garlic knots found in the bread section of the freezer section) for dinner. I almost never cook twice on Sundays…or any day. But there’s something about fall/winter that drives me into the kitchen.

Monday: Breakfast casserole – I think I found a recipe for this years ago. But these days, I kinda throw it together. Mix a couple of eggs into a generous splash of milk, season with salt, pepper and onion powder. Pour in some frozen hash browns and mix real good. Mix in browned ground sausage (I use Jimmy Dean’s regular although I really like the “hot” flavor. My youngest doesn’t though.) Throw in a couple of handfuls of shredded cheese. Stir it all together. Dump it into a casserole dish. Depending on how many I’m feeding I either use 9×13 or 8×8. If I have bacon or bacon bits I’ll throw that in. The frozen pepper/onion mix is good in there too. Really you can use any veggies/meats that you want. Bake at 375 until it’s bubbly/hot/the cheese is melted.

Tuesday: Beef stew & homemade bread – Again, no recipe for this. I dump stew meat, tomato juice, beef broth, seasoning, & veggies in the slow cooker. I happen to have some in the freezer and I have a meeting this night so it’s a good match. I’ll use the bread machine for homemade bread.

Wednesday: Cheesy vegetable potato chowder and gluten free cornbread (using a mix) for my book study ladies.

Thursday: (Tentative depending on our small group plans) Chicken enchiladas, refried beans and spanish rice. I don’t have a recipe for the chicken enchiladas. I’ll cook & shred chicken & use canned green enchilada sauce, packaged spanish rice. But the refried beans…that recipe is linked and one of my faves.

Friday – Sunday: No plan. We’ll eat out or I’ll throw something easy together. I’m working Sunday evening so my family will figure things out on their own. They’re pretty good about that šŸ™‚

Have a great week! Feel free to share your dinner ideas in the comments.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

